Vegan Cornbread Muffins (Oil-free, Low-fat)

Vegan Low-fat Cornbread Muffins Recipe (16 servings):

  • 2 cup of cornmeal
  • 2 cup of unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of cinnamon applesauce
  • 2 1/2 cup of plant-based vanilla milk
  • 2 tbsp of brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp of salt

Preheat the oven to 400° F.

Mix all the dry ingredients in one bowl, and mix all the wet ingredients in another bowl. Transfer the dry ingredients into the wet bowl in increments, and mix well.

Lightly grease muffin tins with oil. I used a canola oil spray can! Fill each compartment with the mixed batter. Bake for 18 minutes. Once done, let it cool for 5 minutes, and transfer the cornbread muffins onto a plate.

Serve with (vegan) butter or honey/agave/maple syrup, if desired!


Today, April 5th, is my mother’s birthday! She wanted to eat fried chicken and coleslaw, which my sister made, and so I made these vegan cornbread muffins, mashed potato, and gravy to compliment the dishes. My mom also made chicken lumpia from scratch, and my dad made veggie pancit.

Despite the shelter in-place happening, I am so grateful that I am able to have times like these where I can be safe with my loved ones. I hope you are all having a safe and healthy time as well. Sometimes, it simply just helps looking at things in a different perspective and making the most of the moments we currently have.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started